Grandpa's Memories of Christmases Past

01/18/2021

Griffin I am honored that you asked me to share my memories from my many years of Christmases. You mentioned the story about your dad, as a child, eating the popcorn from the decorations on the tree, as well as me cutting down the tree every year as your dad, Uncle Mark, Aunt Kris, and Grandma Bev watched it often fall on me! 

For years our family celebrated Christmas Eve by sharing the afternoon with older friends who lived alone. One was from church whom we called Uncle Harry and the other was our babysitter's mother, Susie. Then during the evening, we would go to Grandma Bev's sister's house to celebrate with Grandma Bev's mother and husband, Marv, plus all the cousins! Somewhere in the mix we went to a candlelight service Christmas day was a time of food fun and family time. Those memories are pressure and it is great to see that we are still building that tradition by sharing our love with family and friends. All we did and still do is because of the love that is the message of Christmas "for God so loved he gave us the Ultimate Gift of his son."

Along with the joy of the Christmas memories was one in particular that I must share. My saddest Christmas was when I was about 8 years old. My mother and I were decorating the Christmas tree and my father came home, he had been drinking a lot. He drunkenly picked up the tree and threw it outside into the snow. My dear Mother grabbed my hand and our coats and we heard a walk outside and went around the block until my dad passed out. 

You see my father was a good man who had lost his Bakery on account of his addiction to alcohol and was very angry with himself. My mother stuck with him for many reasons. she would often say this is not the man I married, remembering lovingly of the man I used to be before addiction took hold of him. Why am I sharing this memory? Well, 6 years later in 1949, my father went into a ditch and recovery and by the grace of God quit drinking. Then with backing from his aunt he was able to buy another Bakery and three years later was able to buy back the bakery he lost. 

At 14 years of age, I had two goals: 1, to help my mother and father rebuild their broken world, and two, to help make the bakery Successful. By the grace of God, we all did and the bakery is still in operation. My father and mother finished well and I will always be indebted to their commitment to one another and their perseverance to not give up. The past showed me the true meaning of Christmas, the sacrificial love of God that helped me to love and understand my parents, my own family and others.


ShareOurMontanaStories
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started