Remembering for Dad - Cabin at the Lake

01/30/2021

Dear Jackson, my name is Steve White, I'm Kenny's oldest son. It was very nice to receive your letter and he enjoyed having me read it to him. He has dementia so I'm going to tell you what I think was his best Christmas. I'm going to write as if my dad was telling the story. I

 lived in Augusta, Montana with my wife Sharon and we had a cabin up Benchmark, on the edge of the Bob Marshall Wilderness. Steve and his wife Jodee and their two children Sarah 11 and Josh 9 we're coming for Christmas at the cabin. Sharon and I got all the food packed and loaded all the presents in the back of the pickup. Then I hooked up the snow machine trailer with our two snow machines. 

When Steve's family got to town at 6 we went to church on Christmas Eve and then headed for the mountains. On the way the wind was blowing real hard so Sarah rode in the back of the pickup, holding the presents down. We drove as far as we could. about a mile from the cabin, then we went the rest of the way on snowmachines. 

We got to the cabin and I started a fire and everyone else unloaded the sleds and brought in the food and presents. Once we were all settled in and Granny (Sharon) was getting supper ready, the rest of us jumped on the snow machines and went for a ride. It was dark and we headed up to Woodlake. There was a steep hill by the lake and I went up at first and then Steve and his family came behind. 

At the top we shut off our machine and it was so quiet and peaceful. It was a full moon with lots of stars and we could see the lake below us and the surrounding mountains! I will never forget how beautiful it was!!! We went back and as we came through the trees we could suddenly see the cabin all lit up and it looked very warm and inviting. 

Then we had our traditional Christmas Eve dinner, fried oysters. I really like them! In the morning we had fried kippers and eggs that Steve made and we opened our presents. We spent the next couple days snowmachining and playing in the snow, we didn't want to leave. 

Merry Christmas Jackson thanks for thinking of me! Your friend, Kenny

ShareOurMontanaStories
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started