Different Cultures, Same Values

01/17/2021

Thank you for sharing your Christmas memory of gift-giving with your sister. When I was a little boy, I had a Christmas savings account at the bank or I deposited money each week so I could buy presents for my two brothers and sister. I think I save 25 cents a week.

I want to tell you about a memory I have from when I was a father of three boys. I was a career officer in the United States Marine corps. I was an unaccompanied to Japan for 14 months. I left my family in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, and excess military housing. I promised that I would fly home to visit for Christmas.

December King, and I was sent to South Korea to coordinate and upcoming operation. I had planned to return to Japan just in time to catch the flight to the states. Why is Lee I mailed my Christmas gifts for the children early, and I have packed my suitcase in my quarters ready for departure. I had planned to take a military flight from Korea to Japan as soon as I finish my work. However the airplane broke! I had no way to return to Japan and my flight home to the states. In desperation I went to a Korean military transportation center and told them my situation. They said that was too bad, but they all had Christmas leave. There was no Transportation available. I was really disappointed. I had no idea what to do.

A Korean officer in the transportation office could see how desperate Lee disappointed I was. He asked me to explain my situation. I told him how complicated and desperate it was. He asked me if I was going home to celebrate Christmas with my family. I told him that what's my plan, but it had gone "sour". he asked if I was a Christian because he said he was a Christian, and he knew how special Christmas was. He had children, and he knew how important it must be to me. He said a Christian man with boys at home needed to be with his family. He also noticed his special ring I had in my right hand, and he said you are a Mason. He confirmed that he belonged to a lodge. He said that a Christian Mason father needed to be with his family.

He made a series of phone calls and arranged train transportation to a Korean Air Base. From the air base they flew me to a commercial air terminal in Tokyo, Japan.

I arrived in Wisconsin with no suitcase or clothes, but to the delighted arms of my gathered family. We had 10 wonderful days of Celebration with gifts, hugs, and skiing before I returned for 6 more months in Japan.


ShareOurMontanaStories
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started